makethingsAs Sister Sheri Dew said,”..we can do it. I know we can. Sisters, this is a call to arms, it’s a call to action, a call to arise.” Fraser Sisters, this month we are taking action. President Nelson has pleaded, “… we need women who know how to make important things happen by their faith and we are going to make things happen. In the first ever meeting of the Relief Society Emma Smith said, “We are going to do something extraordinary.” She was right. And we are not done yet!

This month’s Preparedness Goal is to TAKE ACTION.


review

 If you have been working each step, setting and achieving each month’s goal,  you are AMAZING!

If you are just catching fire…let’s do a mini-review.

Step 1 started you off  with an Inventory determining what you DO have and challenged you to make a monthly Budget to acquire what you are still needing.The post  HERE has printable inventory spread sheets + info  for the church cannery.

Step 2 was to get a minimum of 2 weeks worth of WATER per person. Click HERE for details.

Step 3 warned to make an Emergency Plan and put together 72 Hour Kits. Click HERE to get informed and inspired.

Step 4, What Lack I Yet, was all encompassing, and encouraged personal reflection and prayer. Click HERE to refresh your memory. I could have just retired from blogging after that, but then what would I do… laundry?!

Step 5 to Share the spirit of preparedness encouraged us to find other’s needs we could fill. Click HERE to see how you can be a light to others.

Step 6 focused on Spiritual preparation. HERE are my thoughts on it.

Step 7, Financial preparedness gave us a simple blue print to financial freedom. Click HERE to find free Provident Living tools to help you.


Step 8: Women of Action

Every month I pray for guidance and I am always led to what the Lorextrodinaryd would have us focus on. This month I waited faithfully, knowing the Lord would give me a goal and focus for step 8.   I didn’t stress or force it. There was a moment I considered copying another wards path … but then returned to patiently waiting. Then I realized it was March 3rd! I was in the middle of taking action on a personal preparedness goal when the days date occurred to me. There was a half second of “Oh no, what should I…”and then it was spoken to my heart.

He wants us to BE WOMEN OF ACTION.

Whether you are at the beginning of this preparedness journey or well on your way, this months goal is PERFECT FOR YOU. I have some simple ideas about how to take action:

  • Next time you are at the store, grab some cases of water, if your still lacking. Remember last month at RS we learned how to purify bottles of water using sunlight?! HERE it is if you missed it.
  • Spend a date night shopping for & putting together your  72 hour kit if you haven’t yet.
  • Learn a skill! Gardening, knitting, fire starting or solar cooking with a cheap sun visor.
  • Crack open a can and get cooking! Remember that amazing food storage cook book I emailed you last month?  Stone 1 year Food Storage Plan
  • Go to the Cannery! Honestly ladies, I have to tell you, there is a special spirit at the cannery. Every time I pull up and see those towering silos, open the door to the happy helpful faces, and enter into the  clean stocked warehouse… I feel Gods love. I see his pattern. His hand is stretched out still.

If you aren’t able to make it to the Cannery/Home Storage Center , I’ve actually felt that I should take action & will be doing a monthly order /pick up. So starting this month you can fill out a form, write me a check and I will deliver! You can also order online HERE for only $3 shipping, but prices online are a bit higher.

 Here is the order form-   HomeStorageCenterOrderForm-US

Email me with questions @ mylalinton@hotmail.com. I will pick up on the last Tuesday of each month, so have your orders in to me by then.

So that was the meat of this month’s step. Take action. Do something. And then don’t forget to return and report. Leave a comment. Or post on our Facebook HERE. Tell your Visiting Teachers what action you took, and ask them what they have done.


Examples to Follow

As I was pondering being women of action I found God’s pattern for us to  follow. (And LOTS of talks for you to read of coarse.) He gives us examples of everything he wants us to do. This conference talk breaks down the 2 steps in Gods action plan.

1st – “God takes something into his heart. When we take something into our hearts, it usually means that we feel something. This is the spirit of revelation. (See D&C 8:2–3.) It gives an intense feeling of peacefulness or well-being. President Marion G. Romney said that it “comes into our minds and feelings and induces us to do what is right.” This is exactly what the First Presidency Message is about this month! Coincidence? Never. President Monson says, ” The aim is to inspire individuals to think about, feel about, and then do something about living gospel principles.” So first you need to desire…desire to be prepared. Desire to follow the prophet. Desire is the beginning of faith.  (Alma 32:27.) If we let it, this desire will grow into a mature faith that can make things happen.

2nd– “When God takes it into his heart to do something, whatever it is, he does it. He simply does it. It has been said, “Our feelings were given us to excite to action, and when they end in themselves, they are cherished to no good purpose.”  This means that once we have felt something, we must act. We must “do many things of (our) own free will, and bring to pass much righteousness.”faith

Everywhere I looked today I  noticed examples of taking action. I found examples of people making things happen by faith.

Our first example of taking action is when Jehovah said,”Here am I, send me .” Elder Ballard helps us liken the Saviors example unto us in his talk Women of Righteousness . He says,”Just as the Savior stepped forward to fulfill His divine responsibilities, we have the challenge and responsibility to do likewise. If you are wondering if you make a difference to the Lord, imagine the impact when you make commitments such as the following:hereami

Father, if You need a woman to rear children in righteousness, here am I, send me. If You need a woman who will shun vulgarity and dress modestly and speak with dignity and show the world how joyous it is to keep the commandments, here am I, send me. If You need a woman who can resist the alluring temptations of the world by keeping her eyes fixed on eternity, here am I, send me. If You need a woman of faithful steadiness, here am I, send me.”

Between now and the day the Lord comes again, He needs women in every family, in every ward, in every community, in every nation who will step forward in righteousness and say by their words and their actions, “Here am I, send me.”

Consider the phrase we learn in primary , go and do,  1 Ne. 3:7 . Sister Elaine A. Cannon said, “This should become a reality in the lives of the coming generation, who must be prepared, as President Kimball told us several years ago, as a covenant generation to prepare the way for the coming of the Lord.” How can we go & do when it comes to preparedness? If you pray and search the scriptures I know he will guide you and answer that question.

simplethingsI love what Elder Holland just posted on Facebook about his “beloved little bride”. In a moment of his own weakness he wondered if they should give up on some of their goals. He shares her response. “She grabbed me by the lapels and said, “We are not going back. We are not going home. The future holds everything for us.” She stood there in the sunlight that day and gave me a real talk. I don’t recall that she quoted Paul, but there was certainly plenty in her voice that said she was committed to setting aside all that was past in order to “press toward the mark” and seize the prize of God that lay yet ahead. It was a living demonstration of faith. It was “the substance of things hoped for, the evidence of things not seen” (Hebrews 11:1).” I love Sister Holland! She is a living example of Women of Action.

I also love Sheri Dew’s reflection on her Grandmother that she shares HERE. She says,”As a young girl I saw commitment in my grandmother, who helped Grandpa homestead our farm on the Kansas prairie. Somehow they outlasted the Dust Bowl, the Depression, and the tornadoes that terrorize the Great Plains. To the world, my grandma was ordinary. But to me, she represents the unsung heroines of this century who lived up to their premortal promises and left a foundation of faith upon which we may build. Grandma wasn’t perfect, but she was a woman of God.” The entire talk ,titled We Are Women of God, is inspiring. Our ancestors and grandparent’s generation knew that they were agents to act and not be acted upon.(2 Nephi 2:26)

Finally, we have the example found in Luke 17:14 of the leapers Christ healed. They were healed, not as they stood on the roadside or even as they knelt at the Savior’s feet, but rather “as they went.”As they took action, in faith. I know that as we become Women of Action “our paths will become clear, weak things can become strong (Ether 12:27), and seeds we have planted in faith will swell and sprout and grow so that we know of their goodness ( Alma 32:33–34).”

 

 

 

 

